Nova Awards

NOVA clipart

What Are the Nova Awards?

The Boy Scouts of America developed the Nova Awards program to excite and expand a sense of wonder in our Scouts. By working with an adult counselor, the various modules allow them to explore the basic principles of STEM and discover how fun and fascinating STEM can be.

What Age Can Participate?

Nova Awards can be earned by any registered Cub Scout, Webelos Scout, Boy Scout, or Venturer. They are not available for Tigers at this time.

What Recognition is Available?

For the first Nova Award in each program (Cub Scouts/Webelos, Boy Scouts, Venturers), the youth with receive the Nova patch.

Nova Series

For each successive Nova Award, the youth will receive a small Pi symbol device to place in the east, south, and west corners of the Nova patch.